ABUAD’s Lecturer, Ekiti NUJ Officer  Emerge AAU Alumni’s  New Leaders 

The Alumni Association of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko (AAUA) has elected a new set of leaders to pilot the affairs of the Association for the next two years.
The election which was held in Akungba Akoko at its biennial worldwide convention on weekend  was sequel to the expiration of the tenure of the Oyekunle Adetoba-led Executive Council.
At the convention, Dr Olumide Olugbemi-Gabriel, a lecturer at Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti was elected unopposed as President of the Association following the withdrawal of his opponent, Dr Oladipupo Olayiwola, from the contest.
Also, the chairman of the State Information chapel of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ) in Ekiti State, Mr Oluwaseun Ogunsakin was elected as Events and Publicity Officer.
Other elected are Yisau Kazeem (General Secretary), Akinyemi Akintan (Treasurer), Awopetu Niyi (Financial Secretary), Rasaki Babajide (Assistant Secretary), Saka Olokungboye as Second Vice President and Lawal Olanrewaju (Ex-Officio).
In his acceptance speech, the Worldwide President, Dr Olugbemi-Gabriel thanked the delegates for ensuring a hitch-free election as worthy ambassadors of the university.
Olugbemi-Gabriel who noted that the task before his administration is daunting, stated that all hands must be on deck in order for the Association to make positive impacts.
He highlighted the vision of his administration to include completion of ongoing hostel project and provision of scholarship for indigent students, among others.
While speaking on low participation of women in the activities of the Association, the new president stressed the need to increase inclusiveness and embrace gender balance.
He called in women to participate more actively in the activities of the Association.
Earlier, the former President had given an account of stewardship on his two-year tenure.
Adetoba listed the ongoing hostel project and the cooperative initiative as legacies left behind by the administration.
The election was monitored by the University’s  Director of Advancement, Prof. Victor Olumekun who represented the Vice Chancellor, Prof Olugbenga Ige.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: