Ex NAN MD Osuntokun 44 others bag  Nigerian Academy  of Letters  Honour 

Public Affairs Analyst and former Managing Director of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN),Chief Akin Osuntokun has been selected for the prestigious  fellowship of the  Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL).


44 other Nigerian scholars and leading figures in various disciplines have been selected for the honour.
This was contained in a letter  signed by NAL Secretary, Prof. Ayobami Kehinde,, on behalf of the President of the academy, Prof.Diro Oni.
Osuntokun, a top writer  is currently a Fellow, School of Global and Area Studies, University of Oxford, and also Associate Fellow of the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, (AFN).
Amongst the honorees  34, to be inducted as new members, and 11, to be investitute as 11 new fellows .
The NAL letter, titled,”Admission into the Honorary Fellowship of the Nigerian Academy of Letters”, explained that he was chosen, as mark of recognition of his “outstanding contributions to national development and exemplary character”..
” it is with very great delight that I write to congratulate you on your admission into the Honorary Fellowship of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL).
” This followed your election on Wednesday, 1 June, 2022 by the Executive Committee of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL), in recognition of your outstanding contributions to national development and exemplary character”, the letter reads.
The new members to be inducted at the event are Professors Friday Nwankwo Ndubuisi, Dan Okey Chukwu, Isaac E. Ukpokolo, Nkechi Mercy Christopher, Olakunbi O. Olasope, AbdulRasheed Abiodun Adeoye, Victor Osaro Edo, Victor Okoro Ukaogo, John Obasikene, Olusanjo Matthew Abayomi Daramola, Sule Emmanuel Egya, Oyekanmi Paul Taiwo, Ikechukwu Anthony Kanu, Mike Odugbo Odey, Oladiipo Jacob Ajiboye, Akinbiyi M. Akinlabi and Abayomi Kizito Folorunso.
Others are Professors Afolorunso Olalekan Dairo, Ademola Adeleke, Taiwo Olayemi Soneye, Angela Chinyere Nwagbara, John Ebute Agaba, Oyeronke
Olademo, Gown Ama Doki, Akinwumi Ogundiran, Olukoya Joseph Ogen, Muraino Olayiwola Oso, Rotimi Williams Olatunji, Benjamin
Olumuyiwa Popoola, Elizabeth Onyedi Ezenweke, Anyebe Ted Anyebe,
Caleb Oladele Orimoogunje, Emmanuel Folorunso Taiwo and Umaru A. Pate.
Those to be invested as new Fellows are Professors Roseline Oro Aziza (Linguistics – Regular Fellow), Godini Gabriel Dara (Literature/English Regular Fellow), Oluyemisi Adebowale (Literature/Yoruba- Regular Fellow), Alex Chinwuba Asigbo (Theatre Arts – Regular Fellow), Yakubu Aboki Ochefu (History-Regular Fellow) and Olumuyiwa Adebanjo Falaiye (Philosophy-Regular Fellow).
Also listed are Prof. Emeritus John Ayotunde I. Bewaji (Overseas Fellow- Philosophy), Professors Simeon Olusegun llesanmi (Overseas Fellow Religious Studies), Justus Obi Joseph Nwachukwu- Agbada (Regular Fellow Literature), Mr Odia Ofeimun- (Honorary Fellow) and Chief Olusola Akintola Osuntokun (Honorary Fellow) and renown writer, Mr Odia Ofeimun.
Induction and investiture of the new members and Fellows, will take place on Thursday, Aug.11, 2022, in the J.F. Ade Ajayi Auditorium of the University of Lagos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *